The 11-story Union Trust building opened in 1917 as the Union Arcade, designed for the prominent industrialist Henry Clay Frick. The Union Arcade stood out amid Pittsburgh's skyline with its embellished exterior in the Flemish-Gothic style. Perhaps most iconic are the building's illuminated pair of “little chapels," which appear as small churches but are actually camouflaged mechanical towers.
The Union Arcade opened as an early 20th-century shopping arcade, housing around 240 shops. In 1923, the building was purchased by the Union Trust Company, headed by titan Andrew W. Mellon, and renamed with its current title. The building now houses offices but still remains a sight to behold in Pittsburgh's architecture. In 1974, the Union Trust Building was included in the National Register of Historic Places.
The interior boasts a central rotunda that is adorned with a stained-glass dome. With restorations, the building now is home to two restaurants. The Union Standard restaurant is owned by celebrated Pittsburgh chef Derek Stevens and pays tribute to its home in the historic building with food from the Appalachian region. The second, Eddie V's Prime Seafood, offers visitors to the iconic building a sophisticated dining experience.
Cover image credit: Union Trust Building Roof By XWRN via Flickr under license CC BY-SA 2.0