The Father of Columbus Baseball is a bronze sculpture depicting Harold Cooper by Alan Hamwi, installed outside Huntington Park in the Arena District. The statue was unveiled in 2009 and was commissioned by the Columbus Clippers.
Harold McKinley Cooper (February 14, 1923 – October 4, 2010) was an American politician and Minor League Baseball executive who served as president of the International League from 1978-1990. He is recognized as the father of modern baseball in Columbus for twice orchestrating the return of the game to the park that would later be named Cooper Stadium in his honor.
In 1977, Cooper persuaded his fellow commissioners to purchase and renovate the stadium, which was renamed Franklin County Stadium. The county also took the unique step of buying its own International League affiliate from the Pittsburgh Pirates for $25,000. This gamble paid off; as of 2016, Forbes valued the Columbus Clippers franchise at $41 million, and the team made a profit for the county of $1.33 million in 2015. While still serving as a County Commissioner, Cooper became president of the International League in 1978, a post he held for 12 years. From 1988 to 1989, he served as commissioner of the Triple-A Alliance, an interleague partnership between the International League and American Association. In 1984, the old ballpark he renovated was renamed Cooper Stadium in recognition of his contributions to baseball in Columbus. When the Clippers outgrew Cooper Stadium in 2009, they moved to their new home, Huntington Park, which is where the Father of Columbus Baseball stands today.
Information sourced from Wikipedia