The Richard H. Driehaus Museum explores the art, architecture, and design of the late 19th century to the present. Its permanent collection and temporary exhibitions are presented in an immersive experience within the restored Nickerson Mansion, completed in 1883. Vibrant educational and cultural programs, as well as exhibitions, place the Gilded Age in context and illuminate the history, culture and urban fabric of Chicago. Photo by Alexander Vertikoff, 2014.
The Chicago Cultural Center (Stop 7 on Chicago’s Tiffany Trail) is not the only building with a Tiffany dome. On the north side of the Art Institute’s main floor is Fullerton Hall, a lecture hall which houses another example. Commissioned in 1898, the dome is made of green and gold opalescent glass.
The museum has many other Tiffany objects in their collections as well, including an ecclesiastical stained-glass window. The Lilies (Corey Memorial Window), created between 1892 and 1895 and on display in Gallery 179, was commissioned by Francis Edwin and Vernera Leonard Corey for Christ Reformed Episcopal Church in Chicago. Tiffany Glass and Decorating Company designed several windows for this church, which was on the corner of Michigan Avenue and 24th Street until it was demolished in 1962. The other Tiffany windows in Christ Reformed Episcopal were moved to St. Andrew Reformed Episcopal Church in Tinley Park, Illinois.
Other Tiffany objects on display in the Art Institute include a Hanging Head Dragonfly Shade on Mosaic and Turtleback Base from 1906. This lamp, found in Gallery 178, is attributed to Clara Driscoll, head of the Women’s Glass Cutting Department at Tiffany Studios.
10:30am-5pm, Thursdays Open til 8pm General Admission, Adults: $25, Seniors/Students/Teens: $19, Children: Free, Fullerton Hall is only open to the public for special and private events.
Cover photo credit: Damian Entwistle via Flickr.